How to Delete KIK Account or Deactivate? Check Here!

Kik was once particularly notable for its cross-platform compatibility, high level of privacy, and ability to chat relatively anonymously. A number of other apps (such as WhatsApp and Signal) do essentially the same thing these days, so if you’d rather leave Kik, it’s simple to deactivate your account temporarily (in case you want to return later) or permanently delete it.

What Exactly is Kik?

Kik Messenger, also known as Kik, is a free mobile messaging app available for iOS and Android devices. You can use it to send private messages to other users as well as share videos and photos. It has proven to be very popular among teenagers.

To use Kik, you only need an email address, a birth date, and a username. This means that other users see only the most basic information about each other. After a certain period of time, the app also deletes messaging histories. The app, however, has a number of privacy issues, including IP logging and a lack of end-to-end encryption.

Why Should You Delete Your Kik Account?

There are several reasons why you should delete your Kik account:

Online Threats and Exploitation

Child exploitation is an issue on any app that allows users to remain relatively anonymous. Kik, like many other social media apps, falls into this category. Researchers are also having difficulty obtaining data from the company in order to investigate these cases. However, the company has implemented stricter measures to combat these threats.

Parental Control is Lacking

Teens can use Kik without their parent’s permission. While minors should have their parent’s permission to use the app, they can easily get around this by entering a false birthdate.

Inadequate Privacy

Kik lacks end-to-end encryption, so service providers can view all of your messages or give them to a third party if they wish. The company can also see your IP address and determine your location. In addition, a lack of encryption makes it easier for cybercriminals to intercept user messages.

Must Read: How to Tell if Someone Unadded You on Snapchat? Here Are the Tips!

Users’ Identities Cannot Be Verified

Users can log into Kik without providing a valid email address or phone number, making it difficult to verify someone’s identity. Users are less accountable and transparent as a result, which can lead to scams, exploitation, and cyberbullying.

Transparency is Lacking

Kik is not truly transparent because its code is not available for independent review. Its design was also not properly documented, and no independent audits were performed.

There are numerous safer messaging apps available. Check out our list of secure messaging apps for more information.

How to Delete a Kik Account?

If you’re done with Kik and want to permanently delete your account, you can do so with just a few clicks. Here’s what happens when you delete your Kik account:

  • You will no longer have access to your account.
  • You will no longer receive Kik messages or emails.
  • Your Kik username will no longer be searchable on Kik.

Any contacts with whom you have exchanged messages will have your profile removed.

how to delete kik account

The only catch is that you must know (and have access to) the email address that was used to create the Kik account. Here’s what you should do:

Must Read: How to Play Among Us With Friends? Here You Will Know About That in Detail!

1. Launch a web browser and navigate to the Kik account deletion portal.

2. Enter your Kik username as well as the email address you used to create your account.

3. Provide a reason for leaving Kik.

4. Tick the box to confirm that you are permanently deleting your account.

5. Press the Go! button.

6. Go through your email. You will receive a deactivation email with a link to permanently deactivate (i.e., delete) your account.

How to Deactivate a Kik Account?

If you want to leave Kik but aren’t sure if you want to leave permanently, you can temporarily deactivate your account, which allows you to reactivate it later simply by logging back into your account. Here’s what happens when you deactivate your account:

  • You will no longer receive Kik messages or emails.
  • Your Kik username will no longer be searchable on Kik.

Any contacts with whom you have exchanged messages will have your profile removed.

how to delete kik account

You must have access to the email address that was used to create the Kik account. Here’s what you should do:

1. Launch a web browser and navigate to the Kik account deactivation portal.

2. Enter the email address that was used to create the account.

3. Press the Go! button.

4. Go through your email. You will receive a deactivation email; click the link in the email to temporarily deactivate your account. Simply sign back into the Kik app to reactivate it later.

Conclusion

If you continue to use Kik, at least protect yourself and your children. As previously stated, Kik has a poor track record when it comes to privacy. It lacks end-to-end encryption, allowing service providers to monitor your conversations and cybercriminals to intercept them. The company can also see your IP address and geolocation.

So VPN is your friend in this situation. It will encrypt your traffic so that no one can intercept it. Furthermore, it will mask your original IP address, making your location invisible to others.

Comments are closed.