The Crown Season 4 – Release Date, Cast, Plot, and Details



As we await the next season of The Crown eagerly after watching all the three seasons. With the change in the acting personnel from Colman and Menzies to Foy and Smith, the story has also shifted towards a bit more mature side.


It might make the fans feel better that after the two years gap between the second and third season, as per the reports, The Crown season 4 might get released in November 2020. The shooting started immediately after season three without any break or any change in the cast.


The Crown Season 4


The Crown has been officially renewed for the fourth season. Although, there is no news on whether it will be renewed for the fifth and sixth season.

The season’s cast includes Olivia Colman as Queen Elizabeth II, Tobias Menzies as Prince Philip, Josh O’Connor as Prince Charles, Erin Doherty as Princess Anne along with Helena Bonham Carter starring as Princess Margaret.



The spotlight in season 4 would be focused on the relationship between the Queen and the Prime Minister. Margaret Thatcher portrayed by Gillian Anderson is the newly elected Prime Minister which will allow us to see Anderson in more action throughout the new season. The show has always emphasized the relationship between the monarch and the Prime Minister. Although the timeline has not been confirmed, it is speculated that it will revolve from 1977 to 1990.

It is said that the season will revolve around the disagreements between the Queen and Thatcher over the Apartheid in South Africa. The show will also focus on 1984-5’s miner strike and the Falklands War of 1982. Furthermore, the season will also do coverage of incidents of 1981, where six shots were fired at the Queen and the Buckingham Palace intruding incident.

The show will also introduce US President Ronald Reagan and get insights about his relationship with the Queen as we have witnessed in previous seasons. We will still have to wait to see who plays Prince Andrew as an adult. The show is planned to go on until season 6.