‘Sweet Magnolias’ Season 1: Author and Books on the Show is based


Sweet Magnolias is a recently released drama web television series streaming on Netflix. Based on Lifelong friends lifting each other the plot speaks about juggle relationships, family and careers in the small Southern town of Serenity.

The bond of this friendship is loved by many fanatics. With flying colours, the series has grabbed the attention of a worldwide audience. The series is new to most viewers but originally it is based on a book series first released in 2005 by author Sherryl Woods.


‘Sweet Magnolias’ Season 1 Every Details

In the same year, Woods released Stealing Home. This book introduced the leading character Maddie Townsend, a woman who has just been left by her husband. Here, she is establishing a women’s fitness spa for the town of Serenity. On the other hand, she started developing feeling for her son’s coach Cal Maddox.

Though the Netflix series is partly based on this book, which according to Woods is getting a tie-in rerelease on May 26. The show is reflecting the plot of the first book with the elements from other novels. 

The Cast of ‘Sweet Magnolias’ Season 1

Every Detail of Sweet Magnolias Season 2

There is no doubt that a movie or web series is very different from the plotline of a book. So Let’s talk about the differences in this series. There are two central characters in the Netflix series Dana Sue Sullivan (Brooke Elliott) and Helen Decatur (Heather Headley). Surprisingly, in the text they are introduced in the later books. Dana is a Restaurant owner and introduced in the second novel A Slice of Heaven, while divorce lawyer Helen does not come to Serenity until book three, Feels Like Family.

Author and Fanatics

This differences in book and series created a lot of curiosity among the fanatics. So, one of them used social media to find out the solution that which book from the Sweet Magnolias series she should read before watching the show. The question is asked to Woods and the author replied: “Stealing Home, the first book in the series, will be back in stores May 26 in a new Netflix tie-in edition. Books 2&3 will be reissued later this summer. Season one draws a lot from those books that introduced Maddie, Helen and Dana Sue.”

Continuing In the same thread, she explained: “Stealing Home (Maddie’s story), A Slice of Heaven (Dana Sue’s story) and Feels Like Family (Helen’s story). For TV their stories are unfolding at the same time, rather than sequentially as in the books. A lot more books after those 3.”

It can be concluded from the above-mentioned statements that, if Netflix decides to renew Sweet Magnolias for Season 2, they will have lots of novels to accommodate from. The series currently features 11 books–Stealing Home, A Slice of Heaven, Feels Like Family, Welcome to Serenity, Home in Carolina, Sweet Tea at Sunrise, Honeysuckle Summer, Midnight Promises, Catching Fireflies, Where Azaleas Bloom and Swan Point

Sweet Magnolias is streaming now on Netflix.