Gintama Watch Order- Check Out the Best Order to Watch Our Beloved Anime Series Gintama

Watch Gintama, one of the longest anime series in the world with our easy guide and watch order

Gintama is written by Hideaki Sorachi and has been made into animation by Sunrise in 2005. Being one of the biggest anime series, it has 367 television episodes which started in April 2006 and finished in October 2018. It also has 1 OVA Series, 8 TV installments, 4 Movies, and 5 specials, so I guess I have covered the entire paragraph just for the names of the Japanese manga series, Gintama!!


For everyone who thinks it is easy to watch such a big series entirely then you need to consult a doctor and if you think you should not watch this series just by seeing its size then you need to consult a doctor too, because this is one of the beloved anime series of all time even after being big.

If you want to start this series, which you should gather a lot of courage and first read this article entirely to understand the concept of the series and the guide of how to start a long series in the correct order!!


Storyline for understanding the concept of Gintama

The storyline of Gintama is basically imaginative, where we see how aliens called “Amanto” attack japan and how Shogun who is scared of the alien’s powers surrenders to them accepting all their demands which is not carrying swords and to allow other aliens to enter the country, making the government weak and samurai ashamed.

This story focuses mainly on Gintoki Sakata, a samurai who has the job of a freelancer. He helps Tae the sister of Shinpachi Shimura from a group of aliens and in order to thank Gintoki, Shinpachi becomes his close friend and starts to pay the bills of Gintoki and starts learning about samurai!

As the group of Gintoki increases powerfully the Shinsengumi police force starts taking help Gintoki, in order to catch dangerous criminals. The story is different in every episode but I think you will better understand the series now after a little intro on everything.

So now let me give you the Gintama Watch Order and Easy Guide to Watch the Anime Series, without wasting much of your time


Easy Guide to Gintama Watch In Order

1. Season 1 (Episodes 1-49) and Gintama (2011)

So you should start with season 1, consisting of 49 episodes and then watch Gintama 2011, which is a sequel of the first Gintama anime series made in 2010. It is based story of and kagura (alien teenager).

2. Season 2 (Episodes 50-99) and Gintama: The Movie / Shinyaku Benizakura-hen

Then watch the second season of the Gintama series consisting of 50 episodes and later watch the first movie of Manga series which was released on 24 April 2010 and it revolves around the story of Arc from Gin Tama in which Kotaro Katsura is attacked by a member of the army Kiheitai, and then Gin starts searching for him.

3. Gintama’: Enchousen (2012)

This is the continuation of the 2nd anime series of Gintama that ended in March 2012 and it has 13 episodes in total which were released on Oct 4, 2012, and ended on Mar 28, 2013.

4. Gintama: The Movie: The Final Chapter: Be Forever Yorozuya

It is a Japanese animated movie that was produced by Sunrise and released on July 6, 2013. The plot here is tremendous as we see how Gintoki travels to the future and deals with a secret and unknown group of sorcerers.

5. Season 3 (Episodes 100-150)

Season 3 was telecasted on Japan’s TV Tokyo from April 3, 2008, to March 26, 2009, with a total of 51 episodes.

Also, check out Black Lagoon Season 3!!

6. Season 4 (Episodes 151-201) or Gintama

It premiered on TV Tokyo on April 2, 2009, and ended on March 25, 2010.

7. Gintama: Love Incense Arc (OVA)

This OVA of Gintama includes two episodes, called “Smoke Rises in Places Without Love” and “Eternal Flower” which were released on August 4, 2016, and November 4, 2016

8. Gintama. (2017)

Gintama 2017 is also the sequel of the Gintama anime series and it has 12 episodes in it starting from “The Monster and the Monster’s Child” released on January 8, 2017, and ended on March 26, 2017, with the last episode “hope”

9. Season 5, or Gintama-Slip Arc

Season 5 started on Oct 2, 2017, to Dec 25, 2017, with a total of 13 episodes.

10. Gintama: Silver Soul Arc – Second Half War (2018)

Gintama: Silver Soul Arc is the other half of Gintama: Slip Arc and has been released from Jul 9, 2018, to Oct 8, 2018, with a total of 14 episodes.

11. Gintama: The Semi-Final (Special)

The Gintama: Semi-Final has been released recently with one episode on January 15, 2021, and another one on January 20, 2021.

12. “Gintama: The Final”

Gintama: The Final is a 1 hour 45 minutes movie released on 8 January 2021.


Special Content only if you complete the above-given order as they are not important and made just for fun, still I will put the order below, so check it out!

1. Gintama: Nanigoto mo Saiyo ga Kanjin nano de Tasho Senobisuru Kurai ga Choudoyoi (2005)

2. Gintama: Shiroyasha Koutan / “White Demon’s Birth”(2008)

3. Gintama: Dai Hanseikai (2010)

4. Shinyaku Benizakura-hen (2010)

5. Gintama: Futon ni Haitte kara Buki Nokoshi ni Kizuite Neru ni Nerenai Toki mo Aru (2015)

6. Gintama: Umai-mono wa Atomawashi ni Suru to Yokodorisareru kara Yappari Saki ni Kue (2015)

Why should you watch the series, Gintama?

Gintama as I said earlier is the biggest anime series in the world, did I not say that it is one of the most interesting and exciting series as well. So if you are a person who loves comedy, adventure and action this has everything in one series, just like Family Guy Season 17! There are many places where you might not understand what the series is about but go through the order I have given above and I am pretty sure you will go smoothly, so enjoy the action, laugh at the comedy and let me know in the comments section if you like the article, thank you!!

Honk News will keep you up to date on the newest entertainment and children’s television news. We’re always on top of the newest industry news.

Comments are closed.